Digital Assembly. History is not the Past

podcast series
June 18-28, 2020


Available on Spotify, Apple Podcasts, Google Podcasts, Stitcher and Deezer.
 

The centerpiece of the digital Assembly program in June 2020 was a podcast series titled History is not the Past, which offers thoughts and discussions about present-day issues and future scenarios at the intersection of history, society, and culture. As we look to shape society for the future, it is crucial to bear the past in mind, that without remembering, we will lose our future. The podcast series is mostly in German with some contributions in English.

 

The podcast series was released daily from June 18 to 28, with 11 episodes in all covering a broad range of topics with music by Dota Kehr, Michaela Meise and Maya Shenfeld.

podcast episodes

Episode 1:Juliane Bischoff, Nicolaus Schafhausen and Mirjam Zadoff take a look at the latest social changes caused by the Covid 19 crisis.

Episode 2: New York Times journalistRoger Cohen and Mirjam Zadoff will offer a global look at the shift in political discourse as a result of populism, emotional mobilization, and interconnectivity among right-wing extremist movements, but also at new forms of solidarity, grief, and trauma, and the chance to build transnational, collective memories.

Episode 3 (in German): A critical historical look at the documenta event and the resulting institutional responsibility for the documenta Institute that is currently under development is the focus of the discussion between Nora Sternfeld and Christian Fuhrmeister. In the second contribution Christiane Wolf introduces the former Nazi “Gauforum” site in Weimar and the area’s redesign as a cultural and memorial site. A reading from letters designed by Martin Valdés-Stauber commemorates Munich victims of the Nazi “euthanasia” murders.

 

Episode 4 (in German): The extent to which history and remembrance are inscribed on the built environment is the topic of the discussion by Stephan Trüby and Paul Moritz Rabe, who thconsider “right-wing spaces” and the former forced labor camp at Neuaubing.

 

Episode 5 (in German): Dialogue and responsibility between different generations plays an important role in the discussion between Luisa Neubauer and Doron Rabinovici, who talk about the future of democracy and engagement within civil society from the perspective of their personal experiences.

 

Episode 6 (in German): Digital life and virtual networking plays a role in two conversations, one between Georg Diez and Nicolaus Schafhausen and the other between Sahana Udupa and Florian Hartleb. Diez advocates a democratic digital civil society where technological means open up new paths toward autonomy and co-determination. Udupa and Hartleb, for their part, examine the threats posed by radicalization on the Internet and the online dissemination of right-wing extremist thinking.

 

Episode 7 (in German):Armin Nassehi evaluates with Christine Hamel present-day social transformations and the political potential of alliances throughout society. Leon Kahane and Fabian Bechtle devote their contribution, Forum on Democratic Culture and Contemporary Art, to issues of aspirational identity in the present-day understanding of culture while calling for a critical review of cultural codes.

 

Episode8 (in German): The two artists of Tell me about yesterday tomorrow,, Michaela Melián and Willem de Rooij, talk to Lukas Graf about their artistic approach to past, present and remembrance. Lena Gorelik reads from her text Ich habe Angst.

 

Episode 9: Art in the public sphere is the topic of Ken Lum's and Paul Farber's conversation, which serves, in the context of their monument lab in Philadelphia, as the starting point for examining and collectively shaping societal representation.

Episode 10 (in German): Links between anti-Semitism and racism and the possibility of building an inclusive culture of thought take center stage in the discussion among Charlotte Wiedemann, Stefanie Schüler-Springorum, and Sonja Zekri. Interdisciplinary cooperation and the dialogue between the arts and scholarship are key aspects of curatorial practice for Clémentine Deliss, whose contribution is dedicated to exhibition and research projects in the context of post-social and cultural anthropology collections.

 

Episode 11 (in German):Max Czollek and Michael Brenner discuss with Mirjam historical and current notions of solidarity and the integrative power of narratives that embrace multiple perspectives.

additional program

5 July 2020, 8.30 pm: Q&A with Philippe Sands and Mirjam Zadoff
Mirjam Zadoff speaks with Philippe Sands about his book “East West Street” and the video performance "Rückkehr nach Lemberg"

 

Video performance Philippe Sands: Rückkehr nach Lemberg

Rückkehr nach Lemberg is a fascinating adaptation of Sands's concert reading "A Song of Good & Evil". As part of the Assembly program, the Munich Documentation Centre invited Philippe Sands, the actors Katja Riemann and Jasmin Tabatabai, French bass-baritone Laurent Naouri and jazz pianist Guillaume de Chassy to present their joint production to a Munich-based audience.

On June 18, 2020Harvard Kennedy School professor Khalil Muhammad talked to Mirjam Zadoff about "COVID-19, Racial Inequities and the Fragile State of American Democracy" via YouTube Live Stream – online here:

 

further online formats

Europe Ice Weather

Online publication eiswetter.eu by Sebastian Jung

from June 10, 2020

in cooperation with

The digital Assembly takes place in cooperation with the Federal Agency for Civic Education. Other partners are the Münchner Kammerspiele, the Schauburg München, the Städtische Galerie Nordhorn, the Amerikahaus Munich and the Bavarian American Academy as well as the online magazine MunichMag.

sponsors

Tell me about yesterday tomorrow is funded by the German Federal Cultural Foundation. The project is part of the culture program related to Canada’s Guest of Honour presentation at the Frankfurt Book Fair in 2020. We acknowledge the support of the Canada Council for the Arts and the Government of Canada.

Digital Assembly. History is not the Past

podcast series
June 18-28, 2020


Available on Spotify, Apple Podcasts, Google Podcasts, Stitcher and Deezer.
 

The centerpiece of the digital Assembly program in June 2020 was a podcast series titled History is not the Past, which offers thoughts and discussions about present-day issues and future scenarios at the intersection of history, society, and culture. As we look to shape society for the future, it is crucial to bear the past in mind, that without remembering, we will lose our future. The podcast series is mostly in German with some contributions in English.

 

The podcast series was released daily from June 18 to 28, with 11 episodes in all covering a broad range of topics with music by Dota Kehr, Michaela Meise and Maya Shenfeld.

podcast episodes

Episode 1:Juliane Bischoff, Nicolaus Schafhausen and Mirjam Zadoff take a look at the latest social changes caused by the Covid 19 crisis.

Episode 2: New York Times journalistRoger Cohen and Mirjam Zadoff will offer a global look at the shift in political discourse as a result of populism, emotional mobilization, and interconnectivity among right-wing extremist movements, but also at new forms of solidarity, grief, and trauma, and the chance to build transnational, collective memories.

Episode 3 (in German): A critical historical look at the documenta event and the resulting institutional responsibility for the documenta Institute that is currently under development is the focus of the discussion between Nora Sternfeld and Christian Fuhrmeister. In the second contribution Christiane Wolf introduces the former Nazi “Gauforum” site in Weimar and the area’s redesign as a cultural and memorial site. A reading from letters designed by Martin Valdés-Stauber commemorates Munich victims of the Nazi “euthanasia” murders.

 

Episode 4 (in German): The extent to which history and remembrance are inscribed on the built environment is the topic of the discussion by Stephan Trüby and Paul Moritz Rabe, who thconsider “right-wing spaces” and the former forced labor camp at Neuaubing.

 

Episode 5 (in German): Dialogue and responsibility between different generations plays an important role in the discussion between Luisa Neubauer and Doron Rabinovici, who talk about the future of democracy and engagement within civil society from the perspective of their personal experiences.

 

Episode 6 (in German): Digital life and virtual networking plays a role in two conversations, one between Georg Diez and Nicolaus Schafhausen and the other between Sahana Udupa and Florian Hartleb. Diez advocates a democratic digital civil society where technological means open up new paths toward autonomy and co-determination. Udupa and Hartleb, for their part, examine the threats posed by radicalization on the Internet and the online dissemination of right-wing extremist thinking.

 

Episode 7 (in German):Armin Nassehi evaluates with Christine Hamel present-day social transformations and the political potential of alliances throughout society. Leon Kahane and Fabian Bechtle devote their contribution, Forum on Democratic Culture and Contemporary Art, to issues of aspirational identity in the present-day understanding of culture while calling for a critical review of cultural codes.

 

Episode8 (in German): The two artists of Tell me about yesterday tomorrow,, Michaela Melián and Willem de Rooij, talk to Lukas Graf about their artistic approach to past, present and remembrance. Lena Gorelik reads from her text Ich habe Angst.

 

Episode 9: Art in the public sphere is the topic of Ken Lum's and Paul Farber's conversation, which serves, in the context of their monument lab in Philadelphia, as the starting point for examining and collectively shaping societal representation.

Episode 10 (in German): Links between anti-Semitism and racism and the possibility of building an inclusive culture of thought take center stage in the discussion among Charlotte Wiedemann, Stefanie Schüler-Springorum, and Sonja Zekri. Interdisciplinary cooperation and the dialogue between the arts and scholarship are key aspects of curatorial practice for Clémentine Deliss, whose contribution is dedicated to exhibition and research projects in the context of post-social and cultural anthropology collections.

 

Episode 11 (in German):Max Czollek and Michael Brenner discuss with Mirjam historical and current notions of solidarity and the integrative power of narratives that embrace multiple perspectives.

Digitale Assembly. History is not the Past.

Podcastreihe
18. - 28. Juni 2020

 

Verfügbar auch auf Spotify, Apple Podcasts, Google Podcasts, Stitcher und Deezer.

Im Zentrum der digitalen Assembly im Juni 2020 entstand die Podcastreihe History is not the Past, die Beiträge und Diskussionen von Wissenschaftler*innen, Journalist*innen, Kurator*innen, Künstler*innen, Schriftsteller*innen und Musiker*innen über Gegenwartsfragen und Zukunftsszenarien im Spannungsfeld von Geschichte, Gesellschaft und Kultur nachzudenken versammelt. Für die künftige Gestaltung der Gesellschaft ist der Blick in die Vergangenheit unerlässlich, denn ohne Erinnerung verlieren wir unsere Zukunft.


Die Podcastreihe erschien von 18. bis 28. Juni täglich in insgesamt 11 Folgen, die sich einer breiten Themenauswahl widmen mit Musik vonDota Kehr, Michaela Meise und Maya Shenfeld.

 

podcast episoden

Episode 1: Juliane Bischoff, Nicolaus Schafhausen und Mirjam Zadoff nehmen die jüngsten, durch die Covid-19-Krise bedingten gesellschaftlichen Veränderungen in den Blick.

Episode 2: New York Times Journalist Roger Cohen und Mirjam Zadoff werfen einen Blick auf die globale Verschiebung politischer Diskurse durch Populismus, emotionale Mobilisierung und Vernetzung rechtsextremer Bewegungen, aber diskutieren auch über neue Formen von Solidarität und die Chance transnationaler, kollektiver Erinnerungen.

Episode 3: Der historisch-kritische Blick auf die documenta und die institutionelle Verantwortung, die sich daraus für ein neuentstehendes documenta-Institut ergibt, steht im Zentrum des Gesprächs von Nora Sternfeld und Christian Fuhrmeister. Im zweiten Beitrag stellt Christiane Wolf die Geschichte des ehemaligen nationalsozialistischen „Gauforums“ in Weimar und die Neugestaltung des Areals als Kultur- und Gedenkstätte vor. Eine von Martin Valdés-Stauber konzipierte Lesung aus Briefen erinnert an Münchner Opfer der NS-„Euthanasie“-Morde.

Episode 4: Inwiefern sich Geschichte und Erinnerung im bebauten Raum einschreiben, thematisieren Stephan Trüby und Paul Moritz Rabe bei einer Stadttour durch München mit Blick auf „rechte Räume". Exemplarisch betrachten sie drei Orte: Königsplatz, Schloßrondell Nymphenburg und ehemaliges Zwangsarbeitslager Neuaubing.

Episode 5: Dialog und Verantwortung unterschiedlicher Generationen spielen im Gespräch von Luisa Neubauer und Doron Rabinovici eine Rolle, die aus der Perspektive ihrer persönlichen Erfahrungen über demokratische Zukunft und zivilgesellschaftliches Engagement sprechen.

Episode 6: Digitalität und virtuelle Vernetzung sind Thema der Gespräche zwischen Sahana Udupa und Florian Hartleb, sowie zwischen Georg Diez und Nicolaus Schafhausen: Mit den Bedrohungen durch Radikalisierung im Internet und der Online-Verbreitung von rechtsextremem Gedankengut setzen sich Udupa und Hartleb auseinander. Diez plädiert für eine digital-demokratische Bürgergesellschaft, in der technologische Mittel neue Wege zu Autonomie und Mitbestimmung ermöglichen. 

Episode 7: Soziologe Armin Nassehi bewertet gegenwärtige soziale Transformationen und das politische Potenzial gesellschaftlicher Allianzen. Leon Kahane und Fabian Bechtle, Mitgründer des Forum demokratische Kultur und zeitgenössische Kunst, widmen sich im Gespräch mit Juliane Bischoff Fragen von Identitätsbegehren im gegenwärtigen Kulturverständnis und fordern eine kritische Prüfung kultureller Codes.

Episode  8: Die beiden Künstler*innen von Tell me about yesterday tomorrow, Michaela Melián und Willem de Rooij, sprechen mit Lukas Graf über ihren künstlerischen Umgang mit Vergangenheit, Gegenwart und Erinnerung. Lena Gorelik liest aus ihrem Text Ich habe Angst.

Episode 9: Die Künstler Ken Lum und Paul Farber sprechen über Kunst im öffentlichen Raum, die ihnen im Kontext ihrer Initiative monument lab in Philadelphia als Ausgangspunkt dient, gesellschaftliche Repräsentation zu hinterfragen und kollektiv mitzugestalten.

Episode 10: Verknüpfungen von Antisemitismus und Rassismus und die Möglichkeit einer inklusiven Gedenkkultur, stehen im Zentrum des Gesprächs zwischen Charlotte Wiedemann, Stefanie Schüler-Springorum und Sonja Zekri. Über Interdisziplinäre Zusammenarbeit und den Austausch zwischen Kunst und Wissenschaft sprechen Clémentine Deliss und Mirjam Zadoff.

Episode 11:  Max Czollek und Michael Brenner diskutieren mit Mirjam Zadoff über historische und aktuelle Solidaritätsbegriffe und die integrative Kraft multiperspektivischer Erzählungen.

zusätzliches programm

5. Juli 2020, 20.30 Uhr: Q&A mit Philippe Sands und Mirjam Zadoff
Mirjam Zadoff spricht mit Philippe Sands über sein Buch Rückkehr nach Lemberg und die gleichnamige Video-Performance.

Video-Performance Philippe Sands: Rückkehr nach Lemberg

Rückkehr nach Lembergist eine faszinierende Umsetzung von Philippe Sands gleichnamigem Buch. Im Rahmen unserer Assembly haben wir Philippe Sands mit den Schauspielerinnen Katja Riemann und Jasmin Tabatabai, sowie den französischen Bassbariton Laurent Naouri und den Jazz-Pianisten Guillaume de Chassy eingeladen, um ihre gemeinsame Produktion einem Münchner Publikum zu präsentieren.

Khalil Muhammad: COVID-19, Racial Inequities and the Fragile State of American Democracy
On June 18, 2020 Harvard Kennedy School professor Khalil Muhammad talked to Mirjam Zadoff about the Covid-19 Crisis and the system of structural racism in American society via Live Stream:

weitere online-angebote

Europa Eiswetter

Online-Publikation eiswetter.eu von Sebastian Jung

ab 10. Juni 2020

kooperationspartner

Die digitale Assembly findet in Kooperation mit der Bundeszentrale für politische Bildung statt. Weitere Partner sind die Münchner Kammerspiele, die Schauburg München, die Städtische Galerie Nordhorn, das Amerikahaus München und die Bayerische Amerika-Akademie sowie das Online-Magazin MunichMag.

förderer

Tell me about yesterday tomorrow wird von der Kulturstiftung des Bundes gefördert. Das Projekt ist Teil des Kulturprogramms von Kanadas Gastlandauftritt bei der Frankfurter Buchmesse 2020. Es wird unterstützt durch das
Canada Council for the Arts und die Regierung von Kanada.

Digitale Assembly. History is not the Past.

Podcastreihe
18. - 28. Juni 2020

 

Verfügbar auch auf Spotify, Apple Podcasts, Google Podcasts, Stitcher und Deezer.

Im Zentrum der digitalen Assembly im Juni 2020 entstand die Podcastreihe History is not the Past, die Beiträge und Diskussionen von Wissenschaftler*innen, Journalist*innen, Kurator*innen, Künstler*innen, Schriftsteller*innen und Musiker*innen über Gegenwartsfragen und Zukunftsszenarien im Spannungsfeld von Geschichte, Gesellschaft und Kultur nachzudenken versammelt. Für die künftige Gestaltung der Gesellschaft ist der Blick in die Vergangenheit unerlässlich, denn ohne Erinnerung verlieren wir unsere Zukunft.


Die Podcastreihe erschien von 18. bis 28. Juni täglich in insgesamt 11 Folgen, die sich einer breiten Themenauswahl widmen mit Musik vonDota Kehr, Michaela Meise und Maya Shenfeld.

 

podcast episoden

Episode 1: Juliane Bischoff, Nicolaus Schafhausen und Mirjam Zadoff nehmen die jüngsten, durch die Covid-19-Krise bedingten gesellschaftlichen Veränderungen in den Blick.

Episode 2: New York Times Journalist Roger Cohen und Mirjam Zadoff werfen einen Blick auf die globale Verschiebung politischer Diskurse durch Populismus, emotionale Mobilisierung und Vernetzung rechtsextremer Bewegungen, aber diskutieren auch über neue Formen von Solidarität und die Chance transnationaler, kollektiver Erinnerungen.

Episode 3: Der historisch-kritische Blick auf die documenta und die institutionelle Verantwortung, die sich daraus für ein neuentstehendes documenta-Institut ergibt, steht im Zentrum des Gesprächs von Nora Sternfeld und Christian Fuhrmeister. Im zweiten Beitrag stellt Christiane Wolf die Geschichte des ehemaligen nationalsozialistischen „Gauforums“ in Weimar und die Neugestaltung des Areals als Kultur- und Gedenkstätte vor. Eine von Martin Valdés-Stauber konzipierte Lesung aus Briefen erinnert an Münchner Opfer der NS-„Euthanasie“-Morde.

Episode 4: Inwiefern sich Geschichte und Erinnerung im bebauten Raum einschreiben, thematisieren Stephan Trüby und Paul Moritz Rabe bei einer Stadttour durch München mit Blick auf „rechte Räume". Exemplarisch betrachten sie drei Orte: Königsplatz, Schloßrondell Nymphenburg und ehemaliges Zwangsarbeitslager Neuaubing.

Episode 5: Dialog und Verantwortung unterschiedlicher Generationen spielen im Gespräch von Luisa Neubauer und Doron Rabinovici eine Rolle, die aus der Perspektive ihrer persönlichen Erfahrungen über demokratische Zukunft und zivilgesellschaftliches Engagement sprechen.

Episode 6: Digitalität und virtuelle Vernetzung sind Thema der Gespräche zwischen Sahana Udupa und Florian Hartleb, sowie zwischen Georg Diez und Nicolaus Schafhausen: Mit den Bedrohungen durch Radikalisierung im Internet und der Online-Verbreitung von rechtsextremem Gedankengut setzen sich Udupa und Hartleb auseinander. Diez plädiert für eine digital-demokratische Bürgergesellschaft, in der technologische Mittel neue Wege zu Autonomie und Mitbestimmung ermöglichen. 

Episode 7: Soziologe Armin Nassehi bewertet gegenwärtige soziale Transformationen und das politische Potenzial gesellschaftlicher Allianzen. Leon Kahane und Fabian Bechtle, Mitgründer des Forum demokratische Kultur und zeitgenössische Kunst, widmen sich im Gespräch mit Juliane Bischoff Fragen von Identitätsbegehren im gegenwärtigen Kulturverständnis und fordern eine kritische Prüfung kultureller Codes.

Episode  8: Die beiden Künstler*innen von Tell me about yesterday tomorrow, Michaela Melián und Willem de Rooij, sprechen mit Lukas Graf über ihren künstlerischen Umgang mit Vergangenheit, Gegenwart und Erinnerung. Lena Gorelik liest aus ihrem Text Ich habe Angst.

Episode 9: Die Künstler Ken Lum und Paul Farber sprechen über Kunst im öffentlichen Raum, die ihnen im Kontext ihrer Initiative monument lab in Philadelphia als Ausgangspunkt dient, gesellschaftliche Repräsentation zu hinterfragen und kollektiv mitzugestalten.

Episode 10: Verknüpfungen von Antisemitismus und Rassismus und die Möglichkeit einer inklusiven Gedenkkultur, stehen im Zentrum des Gesprächs zwischen Charlotte Wiedemann, Stefanie Schüler-Springorum und Sonja Zekri. Über Interdisziplinäre Zusammenarbeit und den Austausch zwischen Kunst und Wissenschaft sprechen Clémentine Deliss und Mirjam Zadoff.

Episode 11:  Max Czollek und Michael Brenner diskutieren mit Mirjam Zadoff über historische und aktuelle Solidaritätsbegriffe und die integrative Kraft multiperspektivischer Erzählungen.