Assembly

May 21 to 31 2019

 

Assembly is the title of a multifaceted public program promoting and supporting the exhibition titled Tell me about yesterday tomorrow in discourse and performance from May 21 to 31, 2020. The plaza in front of the Munich Documentation Center for the History of National Socialism will serve as the venue for discourse, performance, music, and cinema. Assembly offers an interdisciplinary, communicative space where people can craft visions for a democratic future based on historical experiences.

 

Held in cooperation with scholars, artists, cultural figures, and journalists, this event puts remembrance center stage as it intersects with the arts and politics. With an eye to current tendencies toward historical revision and possible scenarios and visions, the discussion will center on the importance of a culture of remembrance in terms of our democracies’ future. Talks and presentations, roundtable discussions, concerts and other performances, readings, and film screenings will all be offered, in a bid to appeal to all of Munich’s people, with their different ages, interests, and origins.

 

Assembly will open up an associative field where a diverse range of formats and topics meet. The title itself is deliberately ambiguous, pointing both to an assembly of as many members of a (political) organization as possible and to Michael Hardt and Antonio Negri’s vision of active political power founded on cooperation among many likewise diverse groups.

 

Democracy needs living forms of participation that incorporate different global life experiences – that’s the principle behind the 11-day event series. The goal is to reflect the diversity and complexity of present-day life while negotiating possibilities for shared action along societal fault lines through discourse and poetry.

program

The assembly program will be announced in spring of 2020.

 

Assembly

May 21 to 31 2019

 

Assembly is the title of a multifaceted public program promoting and supporting the exhibition titled Tell me about yesterday tomorrow in discourse and performance from May 21 to 31, 2020. The plaza in front of the Munich Documentation Center for the History of National Socialism will serve as the venue for discourse, performance, music, and cinema. Assembly offers an interdisciplinary, communicative space where people can craft visions for a democratic future based on historical experiences.

 

Held in cooperation with scholars, artists, cultural figures, and journalists, this event puts remembrance center stage as it intersects with the arts and politics. With an eye to current tendencies toward historical revision and possible scenarios and visions, the discussion will center on the importance of a culture of remembrance in terms of our democracies’ future. Talks and presentations, roundtable discussions, concerts and other performances, readings, and film screenings will all be offered, in a bid to appeal to all of Munich’s people, with their different ages, interests, and origins.

 

Assembly will open up an associative field where a diverse range of formats and topics meet. The title itself is deliberately ambiguous, pointing both to an assembly of as many members of a (political) organization as possible and to Michael Hardt and Antonio Negri’s vision of active political power founded on cooperation among many likewise diverse groups.

 

Democracy needs living forms of participation that incorporate different global life experiences – that’s the principle behind the 11-day event series. The goal is to reflect the diversity and complexity of present-day life while negotiating possibilities for shared action along societal fault lines through discourse and poetry.

Assembly

21. bis 31. Mai 2019

 

Assembly ist der Titel eines vielstimmigen öffentlichen Programms, das die Ausstellung Tell me about yesterday tomorrow vom 21. bis 31. Mai 2020 diskursiv und performativ aktiviert. Der Vorplatz des NS-Dokumentationszentrums wird zur Plattform für Diskurs, Performance, musikalische und filmische Beiträge. Die Assembly bietet einen interdisziplinären, kommunikativen Raum, um ausgehend von historischen Erfahrungen Visionen für eine demokratische Zukunft zu entwerfen.

 

Gemeinsam mit Wissenschaftler*innen, Künstler*innen, Kulturschaffenden und Journalist*innen widmet sich der Veranstaltungsschwerpunkt dem Thema Erinnerung im Spannungsfeld von Kunst und Politik. Mit Blick auf aktuelle geschichtsrevisionistische Tendenzen und mögliche Szenarien aber auch Visionen, wird die Relevanz von Erinnerungskultur für die Zukunft unserer Demokratien erörtert. Dabei werden sich Vorträge, Diskussionsrunden, Konzerte, Performances sowie Lesungen und Filmscreenings abwechseln, die versuchen die Münchner Bevölkerung in ihrer Vielfalt hinsichtlich Alter, Interessen und Herkünfte anzusprechen.

 

Die Assembly öffnet ein assoziatives Feld, in dem möglichst vielfältige Formate und Themen aufeinander treffen. Der Begriff Assembly (Versammlung, Zusammenkunft, Aufbau) ist mehrfach zu deuten: Er bezieht sich sowohl auf die Versammlung möglichst aller Mitglieder einer (politischen) Organisation wie auch auf Michael Hardt und Antonio Negris Vision einer auf Kooperation beruhenden politischen Handlungsmacht von vielen, gleichfalls unterschiedlichen Gruppen.

 

Demokratie braucht lebendige Formen der Beteiligung, die unterschiedliche globale Lebenserfahrungen einbeziehen – so der Grundgedanke hinter der 11-tägigen Veranstaltungsreihe. Es geht darum, der Diversität und Komplexität der Gegenwart Rechnung zu tragen und Möglichkeiten des gemeinsamen Handelns entlang gesellschaftlicher Bruchlinien auf diskursive wie poetische Weise zu verhandeln.

 

programm

Das Programm zur Assembly wird ab Frühjahr 2020 bekannt gegeben.

Assembly

21. bis 31. Mai 2019

 

Assembly ist der Titel eines vielstimmigen öffentlichen Programms, das die Ausstellung Tell me about yesterday tomorrow vom 21. bis 31. Mai 2020 diskursiv und performativ aktiviert. Der Vorplatz des NS-Dokumentationszentrums wird zur Plattform für Diskurs, Performance, musikalische und filmische Beiträge. Die Assembly bietet einen interdisziplinären, kommunikativen Raum, um ausgehend von historischen Erfahrungen Visionen für eine demokratische Zukunft zu entwerfen.

 

Gemeinsam mit Wissenschaftler*innen, Künstler*innen, Kulturschaffenden und Journalist*innen widmet sich der Veranstaltungsschwerpunkt dem Thema Erinnerung im Spannungsfeld von Kunst und Politik. Mit Blick auf aktuelle geschichtsrevisionistische Tendenzen und mögliche Szenarien aber auch Visionen, wird die Relevanz von Erinnerungskultur für die Zukunft unserer Demokratien erörtert. Dabei werden sich Vorträge, Diskussionsrunden, Konzerte, Performances sowie Lesungen und Filmscreenings abwechseln, die versuchen die Münchner Bevölkerung in ihrer Vielfalt hinsichtlich Alter, Interessen und Herkünfte anzusprechen.

 

Die Assembly öffnet ein assoziatives Feld, in dem möglichst vielfältige Formate und Themen aufeinander treffen. Der Begriff Assembly (Versammlung, Zusammenkunft, Aufbau) ist mehrfach zu deuten: Er bezieht sich sowohl auf die Versammlung möglichst aller Mitglieder einer (politischen) Organisation wie auch auf Michael Hardt und Antonio Negris Vision einer auf Kooperation beruhenden politischen Handlungsmacht von vielen, gleichfalls unterschiedlichen Gruppen.

 

Demokratie braucht lebendige Formen der Beteiligung, die unterschiedliche globale Lebenserfahrungen einbeziehen – so der Grundgedanke hinter der 11-tägigen Veranstaltungsreihe. Es geht darum, der Diversität und Komplexität der Gegenwart Rechnung zu tragen und Möglichkeiten des gemeinsamen Handelns entlang gesellschaftlicher Bruchlinien auf diskursive wie poetische Weise zu verhandeln.